Unintentional Selfishness

“Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselvse. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.” Phil 2:3-4

Counting others more significant than yourself is hard, let’s face it. Even when you think you are doing a good job at it, someone feels taken advantage of, or mistreated.

My wife and I have recently decided to purchase a different vehicle. The one we currently have is great but between the monthly note and the gas that is somehow disappearing by the barrel, it has become quite costly. We have weighed the options and decided that it would be a wise step for our family, and could help us get out of debt a little bit quicker, to purchase something cheaper and better on gas even if we have to settle for older and more miles. So, this weekend we began the hunt, or in actuality I did. Even though this decision and car hunt is something that is for our family, and I have decided that I don’t need a certain vehicle to be a man, or cool, I still turned this into a selfish endeavor.

My wife and I spent a good portion of Saturday looking at used cars. Even test drove a couple that we liked and decided to consider. I took Sunday to pray about what should happen next, because we all know that it really does matter to Papa what we drive. I didn’t get any real clarity so I drug my wife back out to the car lots on Monday. Mind you that I don’t get a Monday off very often. In my mind I was doing something for my family, but what I was doing was selfishly stealing precious time that belonged to my wife and daughter. My wife had even offered to play Disc Golf with me. That just shows how much she loves me and wants to spend time with me. But, I turned it down for what? A chance to look at some hunk of metal and be harassed by a used car salesman?

I struggle with being intentional because I am lazy. I mean like, I would rather sit in front of the TV zoning out than have an adult conversation Lazy. So Intentionality is something that I am going to be working on. I have to be careful to not let my good intentions be a substitute for what my family really wants and needs, and that’s me. They want to feel loved by me, they want to feel wanted by me, the same way that I want to be loved and wanted by Papa. Intentions can’t show that, empty promises can’t either. My actions, my intentional decisions to be with my family. That’s what matters. What speaks love? going to the park with my family, or driving around for hours shopping for a car?

It’s the same way with my walk with Papa. I have to be intentional with Him as well. Papa wants to spend time with me. He wants to bless me. But, how can I expect anything to happen, or change if I put forth no effort?

My challenge is this: Are you being intentional with your relationships? Are you being Intentional at all?

Leave a Reply

