Who do i want to be?

I have been asking myself that question lately. As I watch my daughter grow, I ask myself what do I want her to be. And I’ve realized that she can’t be anything other than what I model for her. If I want her to love Papa and live in truth, then I have to love Papa and live in truth. If I don’t want her to be lazy and apathetic, then I must show her how to be proactive and empathetic. If I want her to follow her dreams and feel safe being what God has created her to be, I must be willing to dream for myself. I must realize who God has created me to be and live in that reality. I want the absolute best for my daughter. But she will never have the best if I am not willing to give my best.

I feel as though the same applies to Leadership, no matter what form of leadership(church, business, community, clown school). If you want the best from your staff, employees, volunteers, bozo, then put forth your absolute best.

One saying that I really like is: “If God has called you to it, He will equip you for it.” God didn’t cause your church to fail. If He called you to start it, He didn’t leave you after you did. He is going to call you and give you what you need, you just have to be willing to put forth your best. Because, let’s face it, our best still isn’t good enough. But, Papa is made strong in our weakness.

There is another one that says “if God has called you to it, He will get you through it” But I don’t want to just get through life. I want to Live. Papa promises me that life will not be easy, but it will be worth it. Live like it’s worth it today.

*Disclaimer: No clowns were hurt during the writing of this post*

Leave a Reply

